Open Source Douchebags

From messiah to pariah: The death of open source on mobile • The Register: "Open source has gone from pariah to messiah in the past decade, but it has yet to find a place at the mobile table, and risks being rendered obsolete."

Interesting. Tell me more.

Part of this comes from open-source licenses clashing with app store policies. It's perhaps not surprising that Microsoft isn't a big fan of GPL software within its Windows Phone Marketplace, but given its still-small market share, it may also not be a big deal. Of far more concern is the fact that Apple has started pulling GPL software from its virtual shelves.

This is partially true. In reality, both Microsoft and Apple rely very heavily on open source software. But that's not the reason GPL'd software doesn't end up in the various app stores.

No, the real problem is that there's a bunch of open source zealots (read: douchebags) who want to hold their software hostage to prove a point. Rather than proselytizing the value of open source software (and that you can get high quality, not crappy software inexpensively) these douches just ensure that they'll continue have a forum to yell at folks while the world passes them by.

I love open source software. By and large, it's how I make my living (Apache, MySQL, Perl/PHP/Ruby/etc). Folks who are developing open source for the joy of developing would be smart to choose BSD or MIT-like licenses rather than GPL'd licenses. Those licenses were developed sanely for the purpose of pushing technology forward, not holding it hostage.

(Note: this isn't legal advice. While I've watched a bunch of law shows on TV, I am not a law-talking guy. I'm just a caveman, unfrozen by your scientists ...)

Twitter Updates for 2011-03-05

Twitter Updates for 2011-03-03

  • I love nearing spring. The sun and melting, the girl in front of me weaving around trying to put earbuds in and making me want to punch her. #
  • We just sent out a big customer notification so that it would get lost in the iPad 2 press. Sneaky. (Ok, we didn't really.) #
  • @wintermatt Brilliant. We needy steal that. in reply to wintermatt #

Twitter Updates for 2011-02-28

  • Let's go Hokies! Beat Duke! Cassell Guard Represent #
  • You're welcome, America. We beat the Dukies. #
  • As nice as Tumblr is, I'm sure glad I don't use it for anything. I'm pretty sure it is down more than it is up. #

Twitter Updates for 2011-02-26

  • Fawcett Oil fire in Cambridge means most of Teele Sq is closed off. Had to ask to drive down to our place. Can smell the smoke from here. #
  • Oh rain, how I've missed you. #